🍹 Discover Europe's largest variety of Japanese spirits with us: 🥃 Shochu, whisky, gin, great liqueurs, sake and much more! 🍶

What is Umeshu?

Umeshu is the most popular liqueur of the Japanese. Every family has its own recipe for it. For the most part, either sake, shochu/awamori or brandy is used as the alcoholic base and is mixed with umeshu, botanically speaking a Japanese type of apricot. The Ume is often called a Japanese plum, because it looks more like a plum than an apricot.

The Umeshu manufacturers are becoming more and more creative, so there are now over 300 different brands with different tastes in Japan: Green tea, lime, mango, banana, ginger or lemongrass are added to the traditional Umeshu to create sparkling new drinks. Umeshu usually has an alcohol content between 14 - 20%.

The Umeshu found its way from China to Japan a long time ago and was first used as a medicine for sore throats. The word Umeshu first appeared in a dictionary of Japanese food in 1697.

Umeshu is drunk in Japan straight, on the rocks or extended with soda water. In winter, the Japanese also drink their liqueur extended with warm water. In our shop you will find a large selection of umeshu. Whether sparkling, with rose, yuzu or barrel stored - there is certainly something for everyone!

 

- Umeshus in our shop -

Close (Esc)

Ginza Berlin - Newsletter: 10% Welcome Discount

Subscribe to our newsletter now, and secure your 10% welcome discount on almost the entire range!

Old enough?

We at Ginza Berlin support the responsible use of alcohol. You must be at least 18 years old to use this site.

Search

Shopping trolley

Your shopping cart is currently empty.
Start shopping

Was ist Umeshu?

Umeshu ist der beliebteste Likör der Japaner. Jede Familie hat ihr eigenes Rezept dafür. Als alkoholische Basis werden größtenteils entweder Sake, Shochu/Awamori oder Brandy genutzt und mit der Ume, botanisch betrachtet eine japanische Aprikosenart, aufgesetzt. Oft wird zur Ume auch japanische Pflaume gesagt, da sie optisch einer Pflaume mehr ähnelt als einer Aprikose.

Die Umeshu-Hersteller werden zusehend immer kreativer, deshalb gibt es in Japan mittlerweile über 300 verschiedene Marken mit unterschiedlichen Geschmacksrichtungen: Grüner Tee, Limetten, Mango, Banane, Ingwer oder Zitronengras werden dem traditionellen Umeshu hinzugefügt und sorgen für spritzige, neue Drinks. Umeshu hat in der Regel einen Alkoholgehalt zwischen 14 – 20 %.

Der Umeshu fand vor langer Zeit seinen Weg von China nach Japan und wurde zunächst als Medizin gegen Halsschmerzen verwendet. Zum ersten Mal in einem Wörterbuch für japanisches Essen tauchte das Wort Umeshu 1697 auf.

Umeshu wird in Japan straight, on the rocks oder verlängert mit Sodawasser getrunken. Im Winter trinken die Japaner ihren Likör auch mit warmen Wasser verlängert. In unserem Shop gibt es eine große Auswahl an Umeshus. Ob Sparkling, mit Rose, Yuzu oder fassgelagert - hier ist mit Sicherheit für jeden etwas dabei!

 

- Umeshus in unserem Shop -

Schließen (Esc)

Ginza Berlin - Newsletter

Bleib auf dem Laufenden, und erfahre als Erster von neuen Produkten, coolen Events und spannenden Insider-Tipps!

Alt genug?

Wir von Ginza Berlin unterstützen den verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Alkohol. Du musst mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein, um diese Seite nutzen zu können.

Suchen

Einkaufswagen

Ihr Einkaufswagen ist im Moment leer.
Einkauf beginnen